Whats the plan?

It’s Thursday night at 9pm, and yet again I am surrounded by small business owners in Ireland trying to make a buck, attending one of our Speed-Network events. The headlines are the topic of conversation during the break, the T.D’S are discussing whether they should take their bonuses, everyone is disbelieving and very …very angry.

I, like all small business owners can re-invent myself and my service, tailoring it to suit the recession, we can up our service, slash our prices and work longer hours to just keep ticking over. We aren’t afraid of the recession; most of us have to be innovative and flexible even during boom times, but what I really do fear is my government.

I am afraid of the leadership in this country for a number of reasons. If they were a small business like me, they would have to give detailed plans to their lenders; these would include where the business is now and where it is forecast to be in 3, 5 and 10 years time. I would have to back this up with proof, or I would need to provide real assets for the lender to take the risk. I would have to convince the lender that I am strong leader, the right person to steer the ship.

I need a clear marketing plan too, one that shows that I understand my competition and the threats that are real and potential, this has to be backed up with figures and facts, not just assumed.

What are Brian and the Management of Ireland Inc. doing? I, as a lender haven’t seen the figures clearly laid out, I haven’t seen a clear marketing plan and I can safely say that Brian and the team haven’t anticipated any of the threats to Ireland Inc. to date, so how can I trust them to see the future threats coming? Yes I am afraid, I don’t trust the M.D. he seems to be hell bent on destroying our brand and ultimately our “business.”

I think we need the leaders of this country to treat us with respect, we are the lenders. We want to see the financials – and we mean the real figures, we need to know exactly what we are in for now and in the future, but please don’t coat them in political speak, just tell us like it is.

Then show us your clear marketing plan, exactly how you intend to increase sales and grow the brand again.

About Helen Tonetti

Internet and Marketing fantatic. We help you develop and implement Social Media into your marketing activity. Done in stages we develop a clear strategy for you, build the accounts, add content and followers, before training your team to take over and manage the process. Marketing Director of Video Expression, we develop on-line marketing and sales video channels that get results.

Posted on March 2, 2010, in A mix of articles. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Thanks for the comment

