How do you measure Success and what is true wealth.

I have had this conversation so many times over the past few months, how do we decide if we are wealthy, successful or happy?

So after reading an article on “ what is wealth” I was inspired to write down my opinions.

All the television and media coverage would have us believe its if we are buying stuff, from the latest fashion, to false appendages, that we need to drive the right car, get on TV (no matter how stupid we are), how thin we are or how much money we have.

We decided a few years ago to live a simpler life, live in a small space, therefore have less stuff and that would lead to more time. And it really works, we have more time to enjoy the long days, visit places we want to see and have experiences. When we are working – we work hard, but our leisure time is not spent cleaning and caring for a huge home, that screams out for stuff to fill it.

We spend less than we earn, pay cash for everything and see lots of our friends and family… we look after our health as a priority, and this has made us very happy.

Success is not measured by wealth alone in my opinion, (and believe you me, I am a capitalist and do like to have money in the bank)  but wealth on its own does not mean success. I think a balanced life, good health and great friends, a life with purpose, that’s success.

I think there is a huge element in society who do not know what it feels like to get up every day with the sole purpose of achieving something, we have ruined life for so many young people by giving them the dole.

I am not against helping people who help themselves, I didn’t come from a wealthy family, I started to work every summer holiday from the age of 14, I was a single mom, who went back to work when my son was 5 weeks old so I could provide for him (and at 24 he is someone that makes me proud every day), I married a his Dad, who has set a very good example, he has always worked hard to be a great father and husband, and he has a job that he works hard at. We have goals and plans for our future and it’s been fun watching us working towards achieving them.

Perhaps if someone had given me a hand, I might have taken it and my life would be different today, that hand up could have been the start of a way down. It may have made believe that I needed help, it may have instilled a belief in myself ,that I could not have managed on my own. But I was taught, and so believed, that I could make it happen, solve problems and stand on my own two feet.

It’s called pride, I always know that I can always manage, no matter what the challenge.

We have robbed so many of this feeling.

So hope and purpose = wealth.

That’s my opinion – what do you think? Are you a success and why?

Can’t wait to hear the answers. 

About Helen Tonetti

Internet and Marketing fantatic. We help you develop and implement Social Media into your marketing activity. Done in stages we develop a clear strategy for you, build the accounts, add content and followers, before training your team to take over and manage the process. Marketing Director of Video Expression, we develop on-line marketing and sales video channels that get results.

Posted on June 8, 2012, in A mix of articles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Success is happiness. End of. For someone to be successful (i.e. happy) they need to a) know what to be successful at, and b) be successful at it. For example, choosing money accumulation as one’s path and being good at it, may not make one happy. On the other hand, choosing an easy life and being good at it probably brings happiness. Therefore both the choice of life path and the ability to achieve it contributes to measure of success.

Thanks for the comment

