When was the last time you “hugged” a customer

Apologies for my lack of contact over the past few weeks, but I am working with a number of new clients, and when the projects are at planning and kick off stage I need to focus on them.

And I have had a few visitors, something I always enjoy. Last week I thought I may book an outing to a play in a local supper come theatre venue. I went on line and was glad to see that they have spent some time improving the look and feel of the website, but to my disappointment I tried to book a few tickets , and it didn’t work.

Now that’s not my problem, I of all people understand things go wrong on line, but I picked up the phone to call, and told the person in the office that the link wasn’t working, she was really not impressed with my bringing it to her attention… muttering that she didn’t work with the website… but eventually saying that she would pass the comment on.

I was not trying to be difficult, nor was I trying to add to her workload, but I was trying to be helpful, I am sure so many people have clicked on the link, it hasn’t worked, and they never booked.

I read a book by Fergul Quinn called crowning the customer, he said make it easy for customers to give feedback, or they wont bother, and as a business you wont know that they are unhappy .

Come on , make sure all your staff understand it is their job to keep your customers happy, thank them for their feedback – even if its negative, if someone bothers to call your business to tell you something, aren’t you lucky, as most people just tell all their friends.

 

About Helen Tonetti

Internet and Marketing fantatic. We help you develop and implement Social Media into your marketing activity. Done in stages we develop a clear strategy for you, build the accounts, add content and followers, before training your team to take over and manage the process. Marketing Director of Video Expression, we develop on-line marketing and sales video channels that get results.

Posted on July 10, 2012, in A mix of articles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Thanks for the comment

