Lets stop telling people its OK to Steal!!!

I am so peeved, our bikes were stolen again this weekend. They were bolted into the wall with big chains, but the bas…rs didn’t care, they just pulled it out the wall and made off with our bikes’. I work hard and save for stuff that I like, why do people feel they have the right to take stuff…

Part of it I think is the marketing message that we are giving perpetrators of crime, we tell all of us, the law abiding citizens that it’s our fault if our stuff is stolen. Everywhere I go I see signs that tell me not to leave my stuff in my car, at the gym I get told to lock my stuff up, and if something does go missing, how often to you see the disapproval in someone because you didn’t take extra care to make sure it could not be stolen.

Well I want to start a campaign, I want signs under each and every sign put up to tell me to look after my stuff, I want a huge sign that says .

STOP STEALING IT DOES NOT BELONG TO YOU AND PEOPLE SHOULD NOT HAVE TO LOCK UP EVERYTHING JUST BECAUSE YOU ARE A LOWLIFE!

It’s just about changing the message and reminding people that steal that they are in the wrong, that they are to blame and not me and you, when they steal our stuff .

About Helen Tonetti

Internet and Marketing fantatic. We help you develop and implement Social Media into your marketing activity. Done in stages we develop a clear strategy for you, build the accounts, add content and followers, before training your team to take over and manage the process. Marketing Director of Video Expression, we develop on-line marketing and sales video channels that get results.

Posted on July 30, 2012, in A mix of articles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hear! Hear! I love messages that turn things on their head. As a society, we have become so used to being told to lock things away (in case things get stolen), it would be so refreshing to have messages directed straight at the perpetrators. Like it!

  2. Cheers Lindsay, I think we are creating a society of victims … just today read an account of the Malaysian plane that was shot down, the transcript (after they discovered it was a passenger plan) F%&£k it … this is a war zone, they should not fly over it….. That’s on a huge and tragic scale, but think small thieves think the same way, I can steal because they were careless…. ahh as you can see , its just one of my peeves!

Thanks for the comment

