When is a Croissant Toast?

croissantI had a rather bizarre experience yesterday, John and I were in in London to run a content planning workshop with a client for their new video channel, and decided to have a catch up before the meeting.

We found a restaurant /café n Liverpool Street station, and went in to order a coffee and breakfast. Now I should have had an inkling at this stage hat the service was going to be questionable, nobody seemed o be clocking people as they came in and sat down, so I decided to go to the bar and order, in the few minutes I was there, placing my order, two people complained about the lack of service, and instead of looking ashamed – he staff looked at me with that look…. Can you believe the people we get in here… that look.

Anyway I placed my order for 2 coffees, a round of toast and a bacon roll … fairly straightforward I thought, and made sure my rather pre-occupied waiter repeated back to me.

We waited for 15 minutes, and we got 2 coffees … a croissant and a roll with a sausage. I questioned the rather earnest young waiter, said I had ordered toast, he the said, this is what we give you for toast, and come on its much better, I even warmed it for you. I decided to eat it , we were running late..

The funniest part, he person next to me had toast.

I thought about what I deliver to my clients, I hope when they ask for toast, I don’t try to give them a pastry instead, and wrap it up in marketing speak. I know that many of us do.

I will never go back to the restaurant in question,  and know that the real strength of any business is about people returning … an telling their friends about a positive experience.

So listen carefully and provide clients with what they ordered, not what you want to serve.

About Helen Tonetti

Internet and Marketing fantatic. We help you develop and implement Social Media into your marketing activity. Done in stages we develop a clear strategy for you, build the accounts, add content and followers, before training your team to take over and manage the process. Marketing Director of Video Expression, we develop on-line marketing and sales video channels that get results.

Posted on February 13, 2013, in A mix of articles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Thanks for the comment

