Are you like a bad taxi driver?

Last week I had the misfortune of having to catch a taxi home, the reason I say misfortune is because the driver was a buffoon.

After a lovely meal, my husband and I walked back to the train station – only to find the train we had to catch was cancelled and it meant an hours wait. So we decided to catch one of the waiting taxis.

The driver gave us a luke warm greeting, then asked if we didn’t mind if he spoke on the phone (handsfree) while he drove us home.

As we were leaving he station a young man arrived for the same train, so my husband, asked he taxi to wait while he popped out to ask he young man if he was waiting for the same train, he was, so we offered him a lift with us, which he duly accepted.

We dropped him off first, a few hundred meters away from our house, and then asked the driver to stop again for us. There as no diversion at all, but the taxi driver complained bitterly.

I was really peeved, he hadn’t bothered to speak to us .. or notice that we were helping a young man that was stuck (after working a late shift) to get home.  If it was a problem he could have pointed it out at the start of the journey .. and I could have used another taxi.

I was wondering if I ever treat my clients like this, I have a captive audience, do I zone out, do I listen when they are speaking , and notice if they change their direction, or do I just get frustrated with them, because I didn’t bother to listen and ask questions at the beginning.

I hope not. And I will make sure I try never act like a bad taxi driver.

Are you a good taxi driver, are you listening to customers , do you notice changes in the directions that they are taking?

About Helen Tonetti

Internet and Marketing fantatic. We help you develop and implement Social Media into your marketing activity. Done in stages we develop a clear strategy for you, build the accounts, add content and followers, before training your team to take over and manage the process. Marketing Director of Video Expression, we develop on-line marketing and sales video channels that get results.

Posted on April 8, 2013, in A mix of articles. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Reminds me of a taxi driver a colleague and I tried to take at Paddington. He said “that’s just round the corner, I’m not doing that” and we had to take the next taxi in line. As it turned out it wasn’t just round the corner, the first taxi driver had muddled up two similarly sounding street names. So the second taxi driver made a good fare. Perhaps if the first driver had been a bit more courteous we might have managed to work it out before being ejected from his taxi. I agree with you, service providers should always strive to be professional.

Thanks for the comment

