How to make introductions through LinkedIn

I love to introduce people to each other, and LinkedIn has made that super easy!

I have noticed that a few people wanted to introduce me to one of their contacts, and more often than not we were both on Linked In, but the person introducing us didn’t use LinkedIn to introduce us to each other (sharing profiles), and I thought that I would show you how easy this is in a few steps.

Start by going into your contacts:

li 1

Choose the contact you want to introduce to someone, open their profile, select the drop down menu on the right side of send a message, then select … Share Profile.

LI 2

Then send their profile to the contact you have selected (start typing their name in the box) and remember to include a message to the contact on why you are making the introduction.

li3

Sharing profiles really works, as you get a chance to read a bit about the contact before you call them to meet up.

What’s been the best introduction you made? Or was made to you?

Do you have any LinkedIn tips to share or question I can help with?

About Helen Tonetti

Internet and Marketing fantatic. We help you develop and implement Social Media into your marketing activity. Done in stages we develop a clear strategy for you, build the accounts, add content and followers, before training your team to take over and manage the process. Marketing Director of Video Expression, we develop on-line marketing and sales video channels that get results.

Posted on May 24, 2013, in A mix of articles, Social Media and interesting tools and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have made a good client and contact from connecting with someone on LinkedIn first but there wasn’t a third party involved. The technicalities of an introduction, for me, are less of an issue than being sure I’m making the right connections. Also, if I know both parties well enough to do this, I’d probably just send them both an email anyway.

  2. Thanks Dale, but LinkedIn provides so much more information than an email, so people can get a bit of an insight to each other before a call… but I suppose I put this up, as I asked for introductions to a certain type of person and people tended to tell me to contact them via an email, without telling the contact… I like to be introduced via LinkedIn, but hey any introduction is great!

Thanks for the comment

